What are the Stages of Grief?

Posted on 11/20/2018 01:46:00 PM
What are the Stages of Grief?

The five stages of grief are generally experienced by everyone, regardless of their background. It's important to remember that these stages don't happen in the same order for everyone, and often, people do not experience them all. Grief is categorized in these stages to help those suffering loss top identify, plan for, understand and address the tough feelings they may experience.

What Are The 5 Stages of Grief?

1. Denial & Isolation

Often, the first reaction of someone suffering loss is a feeling of denial. Many think in common dialogues such as "this can't be happening," even when the facts say otherwise. Denial is a defense mechanism that helps many people emotionally survive their first strong feelings of pain.

2. Anger

As denial begins to fade, sufferers often revert to anger. Anger helps to mask the pain of reality. Loved ones, strangers, or even the person who has passed away may be at the receiving end of anger.

3. Bargaining

Sufferers may attempt to regain control of a loss by blaming themselves or making "bargains" with a higher power. Guilt and self-blame are often central in this stage. For instance, "if only" statements may be used by a sufferer who feels they could have done more to prevent the loss.

4. Depression

People going through loss will often experience depression as a more private emotion. Sometimes, this heavy feeling of sadness is a result of dealing with harsh realities, such as funeral costs. In other cases, it is a natural response to losing something significant from one's life.

5. Acceptance

Not everyone reaches the point of acceptance, which is characterized by calming withdrawal from strong emotions. It can be hard for people to move past strong feelings regarding loss, but acceptance is the point at which many can finally feel at peace.

If you or someone you love is struggling with the process of grief, call MidValley Healthcare to make an appointment. We have a team of licensed professionals to work with clients on an individual basis to achieve a happier healthier life.

View Counts (5068)